top of page
Search
  • lorettawebb20

Celebrating the Small Things

I saw this quote today on Social Media:

Some people are climbing mountains. I am just trying to put my pants on while keeping my balance

Of course this is meant as a joke, but this is certainly how I have felt for the past year.

During lockdown some people have achieved all sorts. I have seen so many posts on social media, or spoken to family and friends, and they all seem to be reporting amazing achievements like decorating the whole house, learning new and amazing skills or getting out for exercise on a daily basis. These things are great and I have a lot of admiration for these people but it has also made me feel really bad, as during this time I feel like I have only just been surviving.

"1 in 2 of young people report less motivation to carry out the activities they usually enjoy" (Rehab Clinics Group, 2021. Student Guide to Managing Mental Health During Covid 19)

What I have realised is that we all need to be a little bit kinder to ourselves (and each other) recognising that we are in the middle of a pandemic and this has not been an easy year for anyone for many different reasons.

"As COVID-19 has crippled the world over the last 12-months, the number of young people suffering from mental health problems have continued to soar for varying reasons." (Rehab Clinics Group, 2021. Student Guide to Managing Mental Health During Covid 19)

It is great to be active, get fresh air, try something new or creative, but it is also important to remember that we will all at times have those bad days. Those days that we feel so low and anxious that doing anything almost seems impossible. Something that helps me when I have those days, is to be kind to myself and remember that I’ve had bad days before and that I’ve got through them before, so just getting through the day is ok.


A massive learning curve for me this year has been that it is ok to feel a certain way. It is ok to feel anxious and low and completely fed up, it’s ok to not want to complete those big tasks or even just do what’s required to get through.

"72% of young people feel more stressed and anxious than usual" (Rehab Clinics Group, 2021. Student Guide to Managing Mental Health During Covid 19)

If things seem too hard, I often try breaking it down into smaller goals and make sure I celebrate those achievements. I’ve really started trying to appreciate the smaller things. Getting out everyday seems like far too big a challenge, whereas getting out today because I feel ok today feels like an easier target to meet.


I really like this article which is aimed at students and talks about 13 ways of how to celebrate your small achievements.


As a Young Persons Substance Misuse Practitioner I have noticed this same importance of celebrating small achievements for young people in treatment for substance misuse, before accomplishing the big ones. Many young people that I come across have used more substances during this difficult time and the thought of stopping or even just not using for a day is too big. Breaking this down and making small changes can really make a difference and can be the first step towards a sustainable change. Delaying use by 15/20 minutes may be enough to stave off a craving, making time to have a healthy meal, might be the small change that is needed. Any small changes need to be celebrated as this will then lead on to other small changes, eventually creating a big change.


Whatever you are able to achieve today, please recognise this for what it is, be kind to yourself and celebrate it. Getting through today, whatever this looks like is an achievement and tomorrow may be an easier day.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page