top of page
Search
  • lorettawebb20

Keeping mentally well through exercise

In the current climate of covid-19, lockdowns and the huge impact of this on society as a whole, many young people that I have supported report: feeling worried or anxious about finances, school or work, their health and/or the health of a loved one. They also report feeling, bored, lonely or frustrated. Understandably, with so many of these feelings circulating, mental health has taken the hit and deteriorated.


I know that mine has!

To cope with this ever changing climate and the impact this has had on my mental health I, like many others have tried different coping strategies to get through the long winter days often overeating (all the wrong things). Other people that I've spoken to during this difficult time have been using their own ways of coping, often drinking more alcohol or using substances to get through.


The other day I was having a particularly hard day, stuck behind a computer for hours on end in a dark room, so as not to disturb the kids, who are homeschooling, (this had become my new norm). When I finished all I wanted to do was wrap myself in a blanket and sit and eat chocolate, but instead the kids asked me to go outside and play on the trampoline. On a January evening in the freezing cold, I couldn't think of anything worse! I reluctantly dragged myself outside and started to bounce, then I started to smile. I hadn't felt this good for a while and when it started snowing and hailing, strangely this just added to the excitement and joy.


Since having so much fun jumping on the trampoline, I have been finding time every day, (sometimes just 15 mins a day) to exercise and guess what?


I feel so much better!


Many mental health organisations and research papers suggest that moderate regular exercise can improve your mental health, sometimes alongside other treatments. In fact, some GP’s can now offer exercise on prescription. Of course it is recognised that exercise can seem impossible if you are having a really tough time, so it is really important to start gradually and build up to something that is manageable for you and discuss any new exercise with your GP if you have any concerns around medical issues.


What I realised is that we don't need to be members of expensive gyms or have lots of equipment at home. You don't even need to have lots of time (I certainly don't). Sometimes it is as simple as going for a walk with your family or dog, doing some gardening - strangely even doing some housework makes me feel better and I'm even sleeping better. But right at the top of my list of fun activities is definitely jumping on the trampoline with the kids, it's not only that it's so much fun, I also get to burn some calories, get fitter and I get to spend some quality time with them too.


Sometimes just changing small things in your life could have a massive impact, have a think about ways that you could be more active throughout the day, whilst having fun and improving both your mental and physical health.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page